Events Calendar

Craig Translation Workshop
Friday, December 01, 2017, 01:00pm - 03:00pm

Join us for the 

Craig Translation Workshop

A QUESTION OF STYLE: in literary translation how much liberty is enough?

Translators Peter Wortsman and Tess Lewis will discuss strategies of capturing style and voice translation through examples from the writings of Kurt Schwitters, Franz Kafka, Mynona, Robert Musil, Walter Benjamin,Peter Altenberg, Ludwig Hohl, and Maja Haderlap.


Tess Lewis is a writer and translator from French and German. Her translations include works by Peter Handke, Alois Hotschnig, Hans Magnus Enzensberger, Lutz Seiler, Pascal Bruckner and Jean-Luc Benoziglio. She has been awarded translation grants from PEN USA and PEN UK, an NEA Translation Fellowship, a Max Geilinger Translation Grant for her translation of Philippe Jaccottet, the ACFNY Translation Prize for her translation of the novel Angel of Oblivion by the Austrian writer Maja Haderlap and most recently a Guggenheim Fellowship. She also serves as an Advisory Editor for The Hudson Review. Her essays and reviews have appeared a number of publications including Partisan Review, Salmagundi, The Hudson Review, World Literature Today, The Wall Street Journal, The American Scholar, and Bookforum. In 2014 and 2015, Ms. Lewis curated Festival Neue Literature, New York City’s premiere annual festival of German language literature in English.

Peter Wortsman is a critically acclaimed writer and translator from the German. His English takes on German language classics include works by Peter Altenberg, Adelbert von Chamisso, the Brothers Grimm, Heinrich Heine, Franz Kafka, Heinrich von Kleist, and Robert Musil. He is the author of two books of short fiction, a travel memoir, a novel, and two stage plays. His travel writing and other essays have appeared in The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, the Boston Globe, The Paris Review, Cicero, the Washington Post, Die Welt, Die Zeit, and were selected five years in a row, 2008-2012, and again in 2016, for The Best Travel Writing. Recipient of the 1985 Beard’s Fund Short Story Award and a 2014 Independent Publisher’s Book Award, he was a former fellow of the Fulbright (1973) and Thomas J. Watson Foundations (1974), the American Academy in Berlin (2010), and the Österreichische Gesellschaft für Literatur (2016).

Location AB 4050, Craig Seminar Room